REVIEW: Come here and kiss me by Willow Winters and M Robinson (ARC)

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

Expensive.

Powerful.

And entirely f*cked up.

That sums up the pretentious – but elite – circle I grew up in. As much as I hate it, this life has its perks. If I want it, it’s mine. It’s as simple as that.

Until she showed up; she’s a tempting little vixen I’m not allowed to have.

One intense night changed it all between us, threatening to shatter everything we know.

She came up with a lie. I came up with a cover. Because the truth is…

I can’t keep my hands off her and one night would never be enough.

Review

One word: deception. I couldn’t care less about what happened to Brook and Ronan. They had little to no personality besides being rich and self important.

Girl meets man, falls in crush. Years later, they sleep together–no idea how it happened. Man is the girl’s father’s enemy. They fake a relationship. And that’s it. That’s the depth of the story. Even the mystery part is resolved off page.

Even the characters themselves are self deprecating, Brooklyn seeing herself as vapid and dependent, and Ronan admiting his mistakes. They neither change nor repent, they just accept who they are. The only evolution is Brook kind of standing up for herself in front of her father, and Ronan letting passion and love override his carefully planned future.

The sexy times weren’t even that sexy. I felt like I had read those scenes before–maybe even in one of the authors’ books. I guess humiliation and dominance aren’t my thing anymore.

There were a couple of interesting scenes, at least. Ronan losing control was one of them; it may have been the only time I felt something for the characters. Also, Mr Michael, a side character, had nice interactions with the main characters, kind of like a mentor.

It feels like both authors parodied themselves. I’m not sure I’m interested in reading the next book.

Quickie

  • Series: standalone
  • Hashtags: #billionaire romance #age gap #enemies to lovers #fake relationship
  • Triggers: emotional abuse, mention of cheating
  • Main couple: Brooklyn Chambers & Ronan Wolf
  • Hotness: 4/5
  • Romance: 2/5
  • the passion Ronan sometimes showed
  • – poor little rich girl

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Willow Winters’s newsletter on her website and M Robinson on hers.

You can also follow them on Facebook respectively here and here.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started