REVIEW: The summer you found me by Elizabeth O’Roark (ALC)

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

KATE
I tore out of rehab to win my husband back. It’ll work, too. He just needs to see that I’m clean, that I’m on my feet again.

Until that happens, though, I’ve only got one guy in my corner—Beck, my husband’s best friend, who takes me in against his will and keeps me sane.

Living with Beck is easier than I expected. And fun. Except I’ve got a long history of wanting things I’m not supposed to want.

And Beck may be the most dangerous of them all.

BECK
Kate had nowhere else to go—helping her out is the right thing to do. Though if she thinks the fact that she’s still married to my best friend means she’s safe walking around my house in nothing but a t-shirt…well, I’m somewhat less sure.

Because maybe Caleb could overlook her. Maybe Caleb could fail to notice her.

But from the moment we met, Kate’s been the only thing I could see. And no matter what she’s telling herself, she wants me just as badly as I want her.

Review

(audiobook) That wasn’t an easy read, for several reasons.

First of all, the female character isn’t lovable. We learned about Kate in the previous book, about her loss and her addiction and the way she betrayed her husband. But it was easy to feel a bit of sympathy for her. Then she starts this book by saying she’s going to get her husband back, no matter how. As he’s already in a relationship, and he’s asking for a divorce, it won’t be pretty. Instant dislike. And without spoiling anything, let me tell you that she’s ready to fight dirty. This is Kate’s book, Kate’s story. Kate’s point of view. And she knows she’s bad, but she can’t help herself.

But the author? She’s good. She gives us Kate’s childhood and her disillusions. She shows us Kate’s need for a family and stability. Kate’s always looked for happiness in the wrong place–her husband, drugs… She has so much grieving to do, and not just for her daughter, whose loss is at the center of Kate’s story. She lost her mother too, and a stable childhood. She needs to dive into her past to build a future, and that’s what this book is about. This is her redemption story.

Because happiness was beside her all along. That’s Beck. They’ve had feelings for each other right from the start, but Kate was already chasing her dreams with Caleb, and Beck wouldn’t betray his best friend. But he understood Kate. He supported her when Caleb wouldn’t. Even knowing Caleb has already moved on, Beck doesn’t dare seducing Kate. To a point, of course.

He has some growing to do too. He doesn’t do things, he lets them happen to him. He works at the bar his mother left him, even though it’s a burden. He never confronted Caleb about the way he treated Kate. But having Kate back in his life forces him to take initiatives.

Through Kate and Beck, but also through other characters, motherhood is the main theme of the story. What does it mean to be a mother? What lengths are mothers ready to go for their children? What happens when a mother loses her child? What is the father’s place? There are as many situations, and as many answers, as there are characters, really.

As I said at the beginning, there are other reasons for it to not be an easy read. Some of the elements in this book could be triggering. Substance abuse, death of a child, mention of past psychological abuse… If you don’t like angst in your romance, this book isn’t for you. Not that there’s no humor at all. But the themes are heavy.

The female narrator was perfect for Kate. You can hear that she understands and loves the character, she brings life to all her different sides. As for the male narrator, he did a great grumpy Beck. If you aren’t afraid of emotional rollercoasters, you should definitely give Beck and Kate a chance.

Quickie

  • Series: The summer #3 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #forbidden romance #ex’s best friend #angst
  • Triggers: cheating (technically), mention of child death, grief, and substance addiction, past in foster care
  • Main couple: Kate & Beck
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • + a lesson in how to make you love the villain
  •  still having a problem with ‘I’ve loved you for so long but slept with many other people’

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Elizabeth O’Roark’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started