REVIEW: Highest bidder by Sara Cate (ARC)

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

He’s not just rich…he’s filthy rich.

When I started working at Salacious Players’ Club, I never expected to end up on the auction block ready to grant a date to the highest bidder.

This club is not really my scene. I’m not the kind of girl rich guys take home. I’m more a piano playing, van-living, free spirit kind of girl.

So when Ronan Kade, the richest man at the club, puts down over a hundred grand for my time, how can I tell him no?

But he’s too old. Too rich. Too cocky.

And oh yeah…he once dated my mother.

Except he doesn’t know that. He has no idea who I am.

One date turns into a trip to Paris. And an offer to live with him in his penthouse. Then a promise to take care of me.

Before I know it, I’m calling this silver fox my daddy.

Ronan Kade only bid on one date, but I think he’s winning much more than that.

Can we overcome the years between us to find happiness?

And will he find it in him to forgive me when he learns the secret I’ve been keeping?

Review

There’s a little something that keeps me from giving it full stars, and I can’t pinpoint what it is.

Feelings came fast, but not too fast nor without reason, so I was mostly okay with that. It wasn’t exactly instalove, there’s a lot of seduction happening. And I liked that the attraction, at least for Daisy, wasn’t there at first, and that it was spending time with Ronan and discovering who he is that made him attractive to her eyes.

Daisy seemed to take a liking to kink real fast, even though she’s been vanilla all her life. Benefit of the doubt, maybe she just had never experienced anything else, and discovered her preferences with Ronan. It’s actually described that way. On top of that, Ronan links her special desires to her state of mind, and it was an interesting point of view.

The age gap is huge, with an additional little touch of forbidden, but it didn’t bother me. Though it isn’t much developped in my opinion. Besides Daisy saying she doesn’t care about other people’s judgement–still she keeps noticing–and Ronan being worried that he’ll keep her from living her life, they don’t talk much about it.

It’s the loss of someone that connects them in the first place, and grief is at the center of the story. The book isn’t really angsty though. It’s mostly sexy, with lots of romance. The vacation in Paris was a bit cliché, but I understand that the city is exotic enough for most readers.

There’s not one reason I don’t give it full stars. It’s more like the book was almost perfect in each of its parts, never reaching full marks. But it was still really good, a great addition to this series.

Quickie

  • Series: Salacious players’ club #5 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #erotica #age gap #surprise pregnancy
  • Triggers: some BDSM, mention of sickness and death
  • Main couple: Daisy Bennett & Ronan Kade
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • + Daisy’s interactions with Eden were nice
  •  why don’t you ask him, Daisy?

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Sara Cate’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started