REVIEW: Egotistical enemy by LM Reid (ARC)

Click the image to preorder on Amazon

Summary

Drake Thomas is my best friend’s brother and the last person I expected to rescue me from my fear of flying.
That’s exactly what my sexy, egotistical enemy did when he turned our missed flight into a road trip adventure filled with the unexpected – like the undeniable sexual tension between us.
I may have hated the man, but there is no denying that I wanted him. And he wanted me, too.
Then I had to go and make the mistake of crossing that thin line between hate and love knowing that we would never last.
It was just a road trip fling. We just wanted to have some fun.
When it comes to Drake – I learned to expect the unexpected.

Review

It missed the mark, but not by much. I’m not sure whether it’s a matter of personnal taste, or the author somehow led me on.

Here we have an enemies to lovers romance in an interesting setting: they’re stuck together during a road trip. And because no one can stay silent for days, Piper and Drake ends up hashing out their past and present. Drake is Piper’s friend’s brother, and when they were kids, he wasn’t very nice with her. To be honest, I didn’t see what all the fuss was about–Drake didn’t deserved all the hate Piper said she felt about him.

On top of that, he keeps showing her that he’s a nice guy, but she can’t seem to be able to let it go for way too long. Okay, he kept teasing her, but it wasn’t that bad really–and I hate bullying so I’m not minimizing things.

Drake’s attraction to Piper came a bit out of nowhere. Sure, she’s pretty, but it felt a bit too instalove/instalust for me. The author could have kept silent about Drake lusting after Piper, and it would have changed nothing in the story. The tension and hostility between them was a bit artificial so the first kiss didn’t have the impact it should have.

I was still surprisingly drawn to the characters. It’s probably their dynamic that seduced me, and the way they explore this new relationship between them. They talk a lot, bicker some, support each other, and open their heart. Some. Drake keeping his story a secret didn’t sit well with me. I can maybe understand that it was a way for him to protect himself, to not become involved. Maybe.

But my main complaint is that, after insisting on Drake’s grief and how it keeps him from letting himself love again, and after getting them back together as friends in order to help Drake recovering, there’s nothing about the healing process on the page. Piper comes back for him, promises him that she’ll be there for him, we have a couple depictions of how it happens, and that’s it! Drake’s healed and he wants to have a life with Piper! I felt robbed of something I was promised. The roadtrip was nice, but I wanted to see Drake’s emotional journey.

Quickie

  • Series: standalone (but part of the Cocky Hero Club)
  • Hashtags: #enemies to lovers #no strings attached #best friend’s brother #road trip #widower
  • Triggers: mention of cheating, grief, mention of car accident
  • Main couple: Piper Davis & Drake Thomas
  • Hotness: 3/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • + Drake’s take on his wedding vows was interesting
  •  where is the healing?

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to LM Reid’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started