REVIEW: Baby heal the pain by Harper Cross (ARC)

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

He was in the wrong place at the right time and saved her. Now he’s hellbent on protecting her life, even if it ruins his.

Samantha
As the field doctor for the best team in the off-the-books spy agency HEAT, I’m a healer, not a fighter. But when enemy agents ambush me, I’m left battling for my life. My one hope for surviving is the former Army Ranger my team sent to extract me.

I quickly realize my sexy savior Evan Prescott wasn’t sent by HEAT after all. He might be an enemy agent, which means falling for him will either heal my heart or ruin my career.

But if loving him is wrong, I might never be right again.

Evan
My assignment from Sentinel Security sounds simple: go to a nearby hotel to help an Army Special Ops soldier’s who’s in trouble. Things get complicated fast because the soldier is dead, there’s a kidnapping in progress in the parking garage, and a beautiful woman with an ugly concussion literally falls into my arms.

By the time Dr. Samantha Bond tells me she’s a spy on the run and I should leave her to save myself, it’s too late. I’m already falling for this sexy woman who is no one’s damsel in distress.

And I’ll protect her at all costs, consequences be damned.

Review

Well I was happy to reunite with the HEAT team. And they had one hell of an adventure, once again.

It starts with a murder, and there’s barely a moment of peace until the very end. And the moments in between are dedicated to developping Samantha and Evan’s relationship. But I loved that the action scenes had some romance in them too. That’s what romantic suspenses are for.

I’m getting tired of instalove, but this time, though Samantha and Evan feel a sudden attraction for each other, they actually learn a bit about each other before they fall in bed. I enjoyed this ‘before’ time. First of all, there’s some powerlessness/protectiveness going on at that time. Also it’s in the middle of some action, so they act more than they talk, hence I felt that they showed their true self–baring some secrets that’ll be a challenge to their relationship later in the story.

Though they appear professional, I thought the Alpha Team wasn’t really efficient. They plan but fail to predict obvious problems and they find themselves in dire situations. And they’re supposed to be the best! At least it creates some intense moments.

When the tension doesn’t come from the mission and its dangers, it comes from the characters’ inner struggles. Samantha and Evan both have some baggage that not only threatens their relationship, but also impact their life decisions. That made them interesting characters.

And they have some serious chemistry! Their intimate moments aren’t a lot, but they sure are hot. And there’s a whole lot more than just physical attraction. They admire each other’s skills. And they want to be in each other’s life despite the odds.

A good romantic suspense, entertaining, with interesting characters, and that keeps you interested till the end.

Quickie

  • Series: Agents of HEAT #3 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #romantic suspense #forced proximity #instalove
  • Triggers: violence, various injuries, mention of domestic abuse
  • Main couple: Samantha Bond & Evan Prescott
  • Hotness: 3/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • + Samantha’s inner stuggles were interesting
  •  for a secret agency, HEAT makes a lot of mistakes

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Harper Cross’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started