REVIEW: Beautiful game by Lainey Davis

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

Everything comes at a cost. Is love worth the price?

Hawk Moyer has it all: fame, fortune…the only thing missing from the pro athlete’s life is family. Half his identity is a mystery, and after a transfer to Pittsburgh’s soccer team, he’s determined to solve the secret of his origins. He just needs to stay focused on his game in the mean time.

The only problem? He met a woman who’s not that into him…and he can’t get her out of his head.

Lucy Nelson has everything to lose. She finally broke free from her son’s abusive father and is working to build a future that can’t be taken away. She’s got priorities, and they don’t include a cocky soccer player, no matter how charming. As far as Lucy’s concerned, he’s only good for one thing.

But Hawk’s a mid-fielder. He’s used to playing offense and defense, and he’s not afraid of Lucy’s baggage, especially with backup from a trio of brothers he didn’t know he had. Can Hawk convince Lucy he’s a team player? Will she ever trust him to be there for her amidst her custody chaos?

Excerpt

“This is Lucy speaking.” I almost never answer unknown numbers calling my phone, but I’m on edge today since my ex came to pick up Wyatt. Something seemed off with Nick—more than usual, I mean.

It’s bad enough I have to steel my features so Wyatt doesn’t see my fear when he has to go with his father for visitation…when Nick decides to show up, that is. But today, Nick was on edge and his eyes looked scary. So, yeah. I pick up the phone for the weird number.

“Lucy…this might seem strange. I’ve got a little boy here who told me this is your phone number?” The woman on the other end of the line sounds friendly, but concerned. The hair on the back of my neck stands up and I see goosebumps rise on my arms despite the heat.

“Wyatt? Where are you? Who is this calling?”

“My name is Patty Haute. I was out for a run and saw your little guy all alone in the back seat of a car.”

“Oh, god! Where are you? I’m on my way.”

It’s almost 90 degrees outside. I can’t imagine why Wyatt would be alone in the car. What is Nick thinking? Usually Nick’s antics are aimed at bothering me and making my life hard. I’m outside before Patty answers me.

“I just want you to know I called the police and they’re on their way here. The doors to the car were all locked with the windows up, so I smashed the passenger window in order to get Wyatt out of the car.”

I start sobbing uncontrollably as she speaks. She’s so calm! How can I remain calm? “Can I talk to Wyatt? Can I hear his voice?”

“Sure, Lucy. Wyatt? Buddy? Your mom is on the phone.” There’s a crinkling sound and I hear my little guy babbling something and my entire body exhales. He’s okay. “Mom! This lady broke the window! She did it with a brick! Is she a crook?”

“No, sweetie. She’s a hero.” My body is shaking now as the adrenaline pulses through me. I’m not sure whether I should drive.

Review

(audiobook) We were supposed to be done with the Stag brothers after four books–one for each brother, plus a Christmas special–but the author brought a secret brother!

Hawk is a soccer player who never knew his father, just that he had to stay away from Pittsburgh where he might still live. Until he’s traded just there. Expected to be the new star in a troubled team, his personal struggles affect his game. And due to the fact that he was raised by a single mother who was taken advantage by a man, he’s avoiding serious relationships, until he meets Lucy and her little boy.

Lucy has been abused–not physically though–by her ex-husband with whom she has joined custody. But he doesn’t leave her alone. She has anxiety, she doesn’t trust, especially men, and lives solely for her son. Until an unfortunate incident brings her back on the turf in an amateur all female soccer team. All of a sudden, she’s getting support, opportunities, and a love interest.

I liked that, although Lucy’s and Hawk’s lives change after they meet, it happens independantly of each other. They have barely any influence on each other’s lives, really, though they provide support and comfort, and sometimes protection. They grow by themselves, but together.

The main theme of the book is clearly fatherhood, more specifically bad fatherhood. Between Hawk’s absent father and Lucy’s abusive ex-husband, we get a couple of examples, making by contrast Hawk’s relationship with Lucy’s son even more #fatherhoodgoal. Plus Hawk gets some closure for his own daddy issues, thanks to his half brothers. Really family, what it should be, and what’s considered a bad one, is at the center of the story.

There’s some sexy time, but it always involve deeper feelings which was kind of nice.

The narrator did good, though I wasn’t a fan of his female voices. The various voices were mostly recognizable, and the proper emotions and emphases were present.

Quickie

  • Series: Stag brothers #5 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #sports romance #soccer #single mother #secret brother
  • Triggers: psychological abuse, talk about alcoholism
  • Main couple: Lucy Nelson & Hawk Moyer
  • Hotness: 4/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • Hawk slowly surrounding himself with people–teammates, friends, family–was nice to see
  • – the narrator’s female voices often sounded hysterical

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Lainey Davis’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started