REVIEW: Eyes on me by Sara Cate (ARC)

Click the image to preorder on Amazon

Summary

I’m a voyeur—it means I like to watch.

And in my line of work, that’s a gift.

As one of the four owners of the Salacious Players’ Club, I’m comfortable on the sidelines. This is what I was made to do, and I work better alone.

Until the day I stumble on a certain cam girl app and find myself watching the one person I should never have watched—my step-sister.

There are three big problems with this.

One, Mia and I can’t stand each other.

Two, she has no idea I’m the man on the other end of the video.

And three…I’m hooked—on the app and on her.

Now, Mia has me wanting and doing things I said I’d never do again, like opening upand getting attached. I’m falling for her, but she’s falling for the mystery man I’m pretending to be.

If I’m going to make this right, then I have to do more than just watch.

But how far will I go to keep her eyes on me?

Review

Garrett definitely stole my interest in the previous book, as some kind of lurker who knew everything. Turns out he was way more than that!

The surprise comes from his love interest. The author loves her forbidden romance–and does it well–and she did it again. Garrett starts a relationship with Mia, his much younger stepsister. After discovering she’s a camgirl. And having a scorching hot private session with her. While hiding his identity, of course. Interested yet?

Between the cam sessions and their real life encounters–Garrett decides to seek her out to see if he’s really attracted to his stepsister, and they quickly have sexy times IRL too–it makes for a sizzling erotica, where exhibitionism and voyeurism are explored, and boundaries tested. It’s hot, and there are a few surprises that you’ll enjoy.

But it’s a romance too, hence the characters are important. The book is not only about their romantic relationship, but the author also writes about their life as siblings–their relationship with their parents, the teasing and banter they still exchange, and of course the changes in the family dynamics once they get together. The forbidden aspect isn’t glossed over.

That isn’t the only heavy topic the book broach. I don’t want to spoil this important element of the plot that is just hinted at for a long time until the big revelation, but let’s just say that Garrett isn’t the happy-go-lucky guy he appears to be. This element could have been more developped, but it is already more than just a plot device.

I’m not sure Mia is defined as much as Garrett. But I enjoyed a few of her character traits. Especially her confidence “despite her appearance”. It’s heavily suggested that she’s very curvy, but she actually likes her body and knows a lot of people find her attractive. And as a camgirl, she isn’t afraid of showing it. That’s body positivity. One point for Mia. She’s also reluctant to talk about her job to her family, but isn’t ashamed to be a sex worker. Second point for her. I still felt she was more a combination of traits than a real person.

Finally, one thing I loved a lot that I didn’t expect was the strong friendship between Garrett and Emerson. It was way more developped her than in the previous book, and I can’t wait to see more of them in the rest of the series.

Quickie

  • Series: Salacious players’ club #2 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #erotica #age gap #stepsiblings #forbidden romance #voyeur/exhibitionist #enemies to lovers
  • Triggers: slight BDSM, public sex, depression, attempted suicide
  • Main couple: Mia Harris & Garrett Porter
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + I loved how Mia took control of her own sexuality despite Garrett’s objections
  •  the change of feelings was a bit sudden

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Sara Cate’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started