REVIEW: Hold me by Willow Winters and Amelia Wilde (ARC)

Summary

With everything I’ve been through, and the unfortunate way we met, the last thing I thought I’d be focused on is the fact that I love the way you kiss me.

Review

I was excited to read the end of the duet. But since the first book’s release, it became a trilogy, and though I enjoyed this second book, I felt it dragged a bit.

The relationship doesn’t evolve a lot. Feelings are evoked but never confessed, which forces both Ella and Zander to make stupid decisions. Of course, without those hiccups, there would be no story to tell.

But at the same time, we learn more about the characters’ past and secrets are–almost–revealed. That aspect at least was interesting. Ella is a complex character for sure. Zander, on the other hand, is very simple. Without his fear of commitment and his reliance on a shallower D/s relationship, he would be two dimensional.

This time, it’s a secondary character that interested me the most. Damon becomes more and more involved, in more ways than one. It’s endearing and sexy. I’d love to see him in his own story.

A bit of mystery appears in this book–not in present days, but in Ella’s past. Plus the romance is still very sexy. It’s a good follow up to this unique story.

Quickie

  • Series: Love the way #2 (ends on a cliffhanger)
  • Hashtags: #dark romance #forbidden romance #D/s relationship
  • Triggers: suggestion of past traumas
  • Main couple: Eleanor Bordeu & Zander Thompson
  • Hotness: 4/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + I enjoyed to see a more vulnerable side of Zander
  • it dragged a bit in my opinion

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Willow Winters’s newsletter on her website and to Amelia Wilde’s on hers.

You can also follow them on Facebook here and here respectively.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started