REVIEW: Hunted beast by Meg Anne and K Loraine (ALC)

Click the image to preorder on Amazon

Summary

She’s everything I want, and I hate her for it.

Hate might not be the right emotion for what Dahlia stirs in me. But I can’t have her, so telling myself I don’t want her is the only option. Especially since my dog won’t leave her alone.

While I’ve been doing my best to avoid the woman I crave, my pup has taken on the role of her protector. He follows her every chance he gets. That’s probably for the best because there’s a serial killer on the loose and he’s got his sights set on her. At least, that’s what the ghosts keep saying.

With her beast out of commission it’s up to the rest of us to keep her safe.

Her fae outcast

Her rogue captain

And me…her reluctant shadow

As much as I should stay away, fate keeps throwing us together and it’s not hard to see the reason why. Dahlia is unlocking me piece by piece.

My memories might be slow to return, but my power isn’t. Since arriving at Blackwood it’s grown by leaps and bounds, bringing one truth into sharp focus. I need her, forbidden as she is.

She’s the light to my darkness and despite our differences our powers are clearly connected. If I have any hope of solving the mystery of who I am, Dahlia and I will have to work together to stop the Ripper before he gets what he wants. Her.

She is the key to all of it. And without her, I will never again be whole.

Review

(audiobook) There were multiple mysteries in the first book, but the most interesting was who Cain is. And though Dahlia’s other lovers aren’t forgotten at all, we learn a lot about him here. Now I see the hints at his identity, but until the big reveal, I was clueless. Well done.

Between some flashbacks and his interactions with the other characters–most of the time difficult if not downright hostile–his journey toward discovering who he is was quite compelling. But I won’t spoil the truth. Let’s just say that the fairytale slash literature theme is still prominent.

But each character gets their own development arc. Dahlia too is learning things about herself that she never suspected. Tor is trying to find a way to control his berserker, and that means accepting Dahlia’s other love interests and sharing his mate. Hook needs to get back into Dahlia’s good graces after his actions in the previous book, and to come to terms with his malicious nature. Kai might be the one with the less interesting arc here–he’s way more open minded than the others, and is taking things as they come most of the time–but we still get some more information about him when cameo characters from other books by the authors come into picture.

The several side plots besides the big love story are developped a bit more too, though not all as much as I’d like. The serial killer acts a few more times, and there are more information given about him and his actions. Death appears again at the end of the book, and what she’s trying to do is still quite a mystery, though it seems her plans for an apocalypse are going well. Some side characters have things happening to them that flesh them out a bit. It feels like this series is more ambitious than the previous ones, but you won’t hear me complain.

As for the romance, there are still talks about how Dahlia is the one, though they don’t know why. As it was explained in the previous Mate Games, the mate bonds can be artificially created by the villain at work in the series, so I suppose it’s a fact that needs to be accepted as it is. For some of Dahlia’s lovers, it’s a bit more developped as they understand what a mate is. And I admit that there were a couple of more intimate conversations between Dahlia and one or the other that could lead to deeper feelings than an unexpected mate bond. But it’s still more lust and desire than real feelings in my opinion.

It’s okay though, as the authors explore a couple of unusual kinks–and more usual ones–through Dahlia and her mates. This book is sexy as hell. With a romance author as the main character, that was expected. I loved that, though she doesn’t have hands on experience, she’s still knowledgeable and not a pure creature waiting to be corrupted, in a sense.

The narration was still delightful. The narrators know their characters and they’re kind of tailor made for them, so you won’t find a fault in their performances. They’re joined by a returning narrator for the cameo characters from other books. A quality audiobook for sure, with a captivating hot romance between paranormal creatures. Can’t wait for the next book.

Quickie

  • Series: The Mate Games: Death #2 (linked to the other Mate Games series, ends on a cliffhanger)
  • Hashtags: #paranormal romance #reverse harem #fairytales #asylum #serial killer #ghosts #virgin #amnesia
  • Triggers: violence and multiple deaths, mention of past cult activities
  • Main “couple”: Dahlia Moore & (Tor Nordson/Caspian Hook/Malakai Nash/Cain Alexander)
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + all those cameos were nice
  •  still dubious about love

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to K Loraine/Kim Loraine’s newsletter on her website and to Meg Anne’s on hers.

You can also follow them on Facebook here and here.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started