REVIEW: Lost to the moon by K Loraine and Meg Anne (ALC)

Click the image to preorder on Amazon

Summary

It’s the end of the world as you know it…

At least it will be, if my dear despicable mum gets her way. I, however, happen to be quite fond of some of the toys I’ve discovered on this plane. Ma petite monstre, for starters.

But the plague is spreading, taking no prisoners, and I’m trapped and at the mercy of a deal I made with Rosie. If Pestilence succeeds, I’ll lose everything I’ve rightfully stolen.

What a waste that would be.

Then I’d be left in the cold and my mate would end up with them.

Her vampire duke.
Her over-protective wolf.
Her cocky shifter.
Her human hybrid.

That just won’t do. Not without her delectable demon topping the list. That’s right. Topping.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to redeem myself in her eyes, not after everything I’ve done. I am the villain of this story, after all. What? I did warn you. It’s not my fault you didn’t believe me.

But I’ll let you in on a little secret about villains: They’re a whole lot of fun, and if you’re not willing to lie, possess, or steal for the things you want, well can you even say you deserve them?

Unfortunately, if mummy wins, none of that matters and we all lose.

So, I suppose I’ll have to do what I can to stop the Apocalypse if I want to enjoy the prize I worked so hard to claim.

You don’t have to thank me.

I’m not doing it for you.

Review

Kudos to the authors, they made me feel for a demon. And not a cute one that’s always been nice. Pan’s development arc is the most interesting in this round of the Mate Games for sure, doing a full 180° while retaining his snark.

But all the characters have done a little grow up since the first book. I felt it wasn’t as progressive as the authors expected, some of it coming as a little surprising–like Asher and Gavin’s bonding that happens mostly off screen. Yet I can’t deny they all were a bit different than when I first met them in the series, and it’s undoubtedly the reason why Rosie manages to win in the end. They surely couldn’t have teamed up that way at the beginning. Monsters assemble!

So yeah, we come to the final confrontation at the end of the book. A tiny bit anticlimactic, in my opinion. Yet the authors manage to include a couple of powerful moves, showing as much character development as action in a long fighting scene. My main complaint is that they never wrote Pestilence as a real threat, and that doesn’t change in the big finale. All her moves that are at first deemed smart, like keeping people from spilling their secret arrangement with her, are easily dismissed.

The authors added a few plot twists or unexpected threats that kept me on the edge of my seat. The pace wasn’t too bad, with a good balance between intimate–not all of the sexy kind–scenes and action scenes, and a decent acceleration toward the end. As for the really sexy, it’s kinky and fun and sometimes even emotional. Well done.

Nothing to say about the narration. All the narrators are exceptionally good at their characters and all their nuances. Maybe two female narrators would have been a good idea, as there are many MANY female characters and just the one narrator, and some scenes were especially confusing.

I didn’t enjoy this series as the previous one, but it was still quite good and sexy. I can’t wait to see what the next round of the Mate Games will bring.

Quickie

  • Series: The mate games: Pestilence #4 (linked to another series by the same authors, directly follows the previous book)
  • Hashtags: #paranormal romance #reverse harem #werewolf #vampire #human #demon #new adult #kinks #bisexual #virgin #twins
  • Triggers: various kinks, violence and death
  • Main “couple”: Roslyn Blackthorne & (Remington Mercer/Bentley Mercer/Gavin Donoghue/Asher Henry/Pan)
  • Hotness: 5+++/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • + the authors managed to make me feel for Pan
  •  the grand finale felt rushed

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to K Loraine/Kim Loraine’s newsletter on her website and to Meg Anne’s on hers.

You can also follow them on Facebook here and here.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started