REVIEW: Hard landing by Marie Booth

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

Caden, the son of a prime alpha wolf, wants the tiger who saved his life to take him up on his offer.

Caden: My father, the alpha of our pack, was murdered, only I’m not alpha material no matter what my family thinks. Half Moon Territory gave me and the vulnerable members of my old pack a home, so now I spend my time working on cars and lusting after the most beautiful tiger who ever walked the coastline. Rav could have abandoned me, but instead he made sure I got the medical help I needed, even when depression kicked me in the gut.

Only Rav has turned into a bull headed hermit who wants nothing to do with me. He let it slip it’s because I’m a wolf, but I’m not buying that. He may have his secrets, but my wolf and I intend to claim him, no matter how many times he pushes me away.

Rav wants to tend his orchard in peace and forget about the wolves who haunt his dreams, especially the hot one who won’t stop stalking him.

Rav: Caden is going to be the death of me. My tiger has already set his part of our heart on Caden’s wolf, no matter how many times I explain that wolves and tigers will never fit together. Not after what was done to me and my clan. Or after what I did in return.

My clan’s businesses are strong, our secrets have held, and no one in Half Moon needs to know about our past. If only the stubborn wolf wouldn’t keep showing up, nudging his way into my life, getting under my skin in every way but the way my body really desires.

I tell myself wolves can’t be trusted, but day by day, Caden weakens my resolve. If I tell him the truth he’ll run and the bits of hope I’ve managed to gather will shatter. I’m not sure I’d survive, so it’s better to stay strong.

Excerpt

When the unexpected shadow passed near the left front bumper of the jeep, I automatically slammed on the brakes and veered to the right. An alarm I’d hoped never to hear beeped loudly as I cursed and tried to unsuccessfully wrench control of the wheel from the clutches of a hopefully capable vehicle safety system. As the vehicle fishtailed on the rain slick road, the windshield’s protective layer activated, my harness tightened, and I was suddenly surrounded by a clear padded bubble.

An ancient oak loomed ahead, its branches reaching out to embrace me. Left with no other option, I covered my head before impact, surprised when the crack of breaking branches and the crunch of damaged glass and metal sounded muffled. The actual jolt had been minor, most of it absorbed by the harness and head shield.

I checked for injuries. Nothing. The bubble had protected more than my ears. It also explained why so many of the residents of Half Moon drove these curvy, treacherous roads in the same model military jeep I’d just managed to smash up.

I struggled to unlock the restraints so I could get out and survey the damage, but the Advanced Collision Control System had other ideas. The release had jammed.

My hands trembled as memories from my past turned protective straps into thick chains.

I breathed deeply, falling into the training that kept me sane. Restraints of any kind brought nightmares and sleepless nights, but I wouldn’t fall down that hole. Not today. Not here. Not ever again.

The harness ripped apart under my claws, leaving only shreds. The primary need to be free always took precedence, even though repair bills loomed in my future. I quickly located the release button for the cushioned bubble and winced as it assaulted my ears with a squeaky whine as it deflated. A turn of the wiper switch retracted the protective windshield film and for the first time, I viewed the deep dent the jeep had made in the oak tree.

The bloody jeep would look worse.

I groaned out loud, leaning my forehead against the steering wheel in exasperation. Better not to dwell on the call I’d have to make to the Half Moon garage owners. Ramona Serrano was a tough nut who’d want to charge me for every little scratch, new or old. Not that she, Rose, and Ramon weren’t excellent mechanics. It’s that they were the only mechanics in the area. Towing the jeep to Santa Cruz for repairs would end up costing much more.

I gathered my courage and jumped down, walking around the rear of the car to the opposite side. The right side had sustained the worst of the damage.

A branch was now a backseat passenger, having punched through the side window, sending shards of glass all over the shoulder and muddy verge as well as onto the seat and floor. It would have badly injured or killed anyone in the backseat, and if the branch had angled forward, the bubble I’d mocked earlier might have saved my life.

“Are you okay? I heard the crash and came back.”

That voice. It couldn’t be Caden. Please, not Caden.

Review

(audiobook) Fascinating world building: check. Age gap MM romance: check. My main complaint is that, by using the fate mates trope, the author skips the slow seduction I enjoy so much.

The story is set basically post apocalypse. In a world with many kinds of shifters, a virus killed most of them. The society is rebuilding, but it isn’t easy. In Half Moon, various shifters cohabitate, including wolves, like Caden, and tigers, like Rav.

Sure, due to the big age difference, the different species, their trouble past, and the world they live in, Caden and Rav aren’t supposed to work as a couple. While Rav fights against his attraction, Caden has accepted his mate and just needs to convince Rav that it’s okay. And there’s a bit of teasing, some flirting, but really it’s just a matter of Rav finally listening to his tiger. No seduction needed.

The author compensates by throwing many obstacles to them, physical and societal and even emotional, to shake things up. Caden is a young alpha who’s trying to overcome his feelings of inadequacy in order to become the leader his community needs, while Rav is keeping his family safe by keeping many secrets. They both were interesting characters, and I loved that their most important struggles weren’t related to their relationship, but that they helped each other.

It wasn’t especially well written, and was a bit slow and repetitive at times. The overall progression wasn’t bad though, with an acceleration toward the end. But I felt the conclusion was a bit rushed.

I enjoyed the narration. Both narrators did a good job, with Caden sounding young and energetic, while Rav sounded more jagged. Rav’s accent wasn’t consistent between the two narrators though. It was still an overall good experience.

Quickie

  • Series: Santa Cruz shifters #2 (can be read as a standalone)
  • Hashtags: #paranormal romance #MM romance #shifters #mates #age gap #virgin #different species #wolf #tiger
  • Triggers: mention of torture, rape, murder, bullying, war crimes
  • Main couple: Caden & Rav
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + great world building
  •  the notion of mates too easily exempts the author of writing seduction

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to Marie Booth’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started