REVIEW: Claimed by the shifters by Meg Anne and K Loraine (ALC)

Click the image to buy on Amazon

Summary

I made a deal with a demon so I could be free.

Boy did that blow up in my face. Everything is falling apart just as I thought it was coming together.

The Mercer twins say I’m their mate. I believe them, even if I can’t let them claim me. No matter how badly my soul yearns to be theirs.

Pan laid out his terms and I ignored them once already. Now Ben is in jail for a murder he didn’t commit, Asher’s curse is spreading, and Remi and I are no closer to finding a way to free either of them. If that wasn’t tricky enough, the Duke of Tears has found me. And Gavin has made it clear he has no intention of leaving without his wife.

But I refuse to leave them.

My flirtatious wolf.
My haunted hacker.
My broken alpha.

And I already know my mischievous demon will never let me go. The mark he seared into my flesh is proof of that.

If I’ve learned anything from my Blackthorne ancestors, it’s how to protect my mate. So while Pan thinks he’s got me over a barrel, I’m the one using him to my advantage.

After all, there’s more than one way to deal with a demon.

Review

(audiobook) I have to admit straight up that I don’t love this new series as much as the previous one. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not enjoying it anyway! My main complaint about it is that it focuses way too much on the relationships, and less on the main apocalypse plot.

I won’t lie, the romance part of the story is seriously hot. Think of any kink, it’s probably depicted somewhere in this book, in great details too. At least, it isn’t completely gratuitous as each of those sexy scenes helps with strengthening the relationships between Rosie and her mates, even redefining them sometimes. I really enjoy this aspect. And again, it’s center of the sun hot.

Despite the title pointing out the twin werewolves, each of Rosie’s mates actually has his time under the spotlight. We learn a bit more about Remi and Ben, yes–the tragedy of their childhood, what they do when they come back injured. But we also have hints at Asher’s story, though it brings more questions than answers. Remi and Asher’s relationship develops a lot too. Gavin becomes more open about his feelings. And finally, Pan has a pivotal role.

He’s the one carrying the apocalypse plot element, but it’s more complicated than it seems. His relationship with his mother is at the center of it–especially since she’s the mastermind behind it. And his feelings for Rosie motivate him as much as they get in the way of his schemes.

As a complete fan of the previous series, I was ecstatic to see some cameos here. It wasn’t just fan service, as they play a role in Rosie’s story, and Asher’s too. I won’t even talk about Lilith or Gabriel, as they’re key players in both series.

As for the narration, it was once again a total blast. Each narrator impersonates their character perfectly, and their voices for secondary characters are nice too. It was a bit confusing a couple of times, when characters from the previous series, played by narrators who work on this one too, were together in a scene.

And with that cliffhanger, I can’t wait for the next book.

Quickie

  • Series: The mate games: Pestilence #2 (linked to another series by the same authors, directly follows the previous book, and ends on a cliffhanger)
  • Hashtags: #paranormal romance #reverse harem #werewolf #vampire #human #demon #new adult #kinks #bisexual #virgin #twins
  • Triggers: various kinks, violence and death (off page)
  • Main “couple”: Roslyn Blackthorne & (Remington Mercer/Bentley Mercer/Gavin Donoghue/Asher Henry)
  • Hotness: 5+++/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + a glorious festival of kinks
  •  the main plot progresses too slowly

Stalker mode

You can subscribe to K Loraine/Kim Loraine’s newsletter on her website and to Meg Anne’s on hers.

You can also follow them on Facebook here and here.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started