2022 wrap up

Total for 2022: 194 books (91 audiobooks including 5 re-read), 48 new authors

Not bad. I think about 200 books is my number. I’m gonna slow down in 2023 though, with a goal of no more than 10 books a month–and it’s already a lot. I have other projects; I also fear I’ll get bored, and I don’t want that.

I reached my Goodreads challenge of 180 books, yay! I didn’t finish the Shhhlut reading challenge–I only completed 23 out of the 26 prompts. I’m still getting an entry for the prize drawing. And I already signed up for next year.

For now, I’m staying in all the review teams I applied to, but I’ll quit some of them if it gets too much.

Time to play favorites!

I won’t do a top five favorite books, I don’t need to. My favorite books of 2022 are the four books in the Mate Games series by K Loraine and Meg Anne. Period.

However I’ll do two top five for my most listened narrators. I had expected to do top 3, but I ended up with ex aequos in both categories, so I decided on a top five. So here they are:

Top five most listened male narrators:
– Jason Clarke (where is the surprise?)
– ex aequo Teddy Hamilton (a returning candidate) and JF Harding (new contestant)
– ex aequo Shane East (blame Kim Loraine) and Blake Lockheart (blame him)

Top five most listened female narrators:
– Stella Hunter (she’s literally EVERYWHERE, won’t complain)
– ex aequo Erin Mallon (mostly in her own works) and Maxine Mitchell (mostly in Leslie Pike’s works)
– ex aequo Vanessa Edwin (I can’t complain) and Samantha Brentmoor (still can’t complain)

I also read a few new to me authors, and I’ve had two crushes this year: Jennifer Bonds and Kelly Siskind. I’m already planning on reading more of their works.

Finally, I want to highlight two revelations.
– So, for a reading challenge, I was supposed to read interspecies romance. Though I had a few shifters and aliens in my reading schedule, none of them had fur, and it was a requirement. That’s when I was recommended Morning Glory milking farm by CM Nascosta. I wasn’t expecting to love it so much.
– At the beginning of the year, I was offered an ALC of The baby proposition by Kim Loraine, with a narrator I had never heard of before, JF Harding. It was love at first sound. So much that he became one of my most listened narrators! And I’m not planning on slowing down.

My expectations for 2023: I’ll read less, that’s my New Year resolution. My Goodreads challenge will be of 120 books, and I’ll try not to go over… much. I’ll probably discover fewer new to me authors so I can make a dent in the backlists of my favorite authors.
I’ll keep on promoting authors though. And maybe I’ll find time to do more interviews.

Why am I slowing down? For two reasons. I want to spend more time promoting authors and their books. And I want to focus on my own writing–finally.

I’ll try to finish my reviews in the next couple of days. Also, I got codes for Final proposal by K Bromberg and Initiation by Alethea Faust.

See you next year!

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started