REVIEW: All the queen’s men by K Loraine (ALC)

Summary

My entire life has been a lie.
I thought I was a normal girl, a typical college student. Until Finn and Jensen, two of the most handsome men I’ve ever met change my entire world.

Literally.

On my twenty-first birthday, a single kiss from Finn transports the three of us to the Shadow Court. A realm of the fae. Because I’m not human. Not even a little. Turns out, I’m a faerie. The Shadow Court’s long-lost queen, to be exact, and I have to take my crown.

It should be easy, but there are rules and customs I need to follow, powers I have to unlock, and a prince I’m supposed to marry.

Unfortunately, there are also plenty of creatures who don’t want me to succeed and will stop at nothing to see me dead.

With my guards, Finn and Jensen at my side, I’m ready for anything. Except for my growing attraction to the men I surround myself with. They say they’re tempted by me, but I want them just as much, and I don’t think I can resist.

Review

(audiobook) I’m adventurous. I don’t usually read PNR, nor reverse harem. And the author was new to me. But I tried this book, and I didn’t regret it one second.

The fantasy world, where faes, vampires and shifters cohabit, with its specific rules, was fascinating. The fact that its fate falls on the shoulders of a young woman brings this book close to YA novels. Except that it isn’t suitable for young readers. At all.

It’s a reverse harem, and one quite steamy with that. I even felt that all of Maeve’s relationships were based on lust, not love. The romance, at first, wasn’t always clear. But once they know each other, they have very emotional moments. Maeve has powerful scenes with each of her lovers. They’re also all so different from each other that you’ll end up with a favorite, even though Maeve has none.

I’d have loved for the trials that Maeve has to endure to be more difficult, or more developped. They mean something though, and Maeve’s whole story is a coming-of-age story. Not only her: some of her lovers have to overcome their own challenge to deserve their place in her harem.

The main reason I was able to plunge into this universe in the first place, was the narration. The multi-cast was perfect for the various points of view and the narrators chosen for each characters were well cast. Great performances. And the bonus story was adorable–and sexy.

Quickie

  • Series: standalone
  • Hashtags: #paranormal romance #reverse harem #fae #vampire #merman #dragon shifter #new adult #MFMMM #MF #MM #MMF
  • Triggers: torture, violence, death
  • Main “couple”: Maeve & (Jensen + Finn + Christian + Rhys)
  • Hotness: 5/5
  • Romance: 3/5
  • + the mythology and the universe were interesting
  • I didn’t always see the feelings, too instalove for me

Stalker mode

You can suscribe to K Loraine/Kim Loraine’s newsletter on her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

Published by veroticker

Romance reader

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started